Florida Chapter
American College of Surgeons

Medical Student Committee

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Medical Student Committee Mission Statement:

The Florida Chapter, American College of Surgeons is a non-profit medical association whose mission is to support and improve the practice of surgery in the state of Florida. Our student committee aims to educate and engage Florida Medical Students in the practice of surgery.

Our Vision:     

The Florida Chapter, American College of Surgeons offers a professional home for Florida surgeons interested in protecting patients and the profession of surgery. We provide opportunities for medical students to participate in state and national chapters of the FACS, and aim to create educational and professional surgical opportunities.  These opportunities include education in numerous surgical fields, networking opportunities, and the development of personal relationships of the highest quality.

Committee Goals:

  1. Membership: Recruit and retain passionate members, offer students professional and networking opportunities. Provide students with the opportunity to meet with program directors, faculty, and staff who assist with residency applications and surgical career planning
  2. Programming: Host and support events at Florida medical school campuses to educate students interested in pursuing a career in surgery. Provide opportunities for students to learn more about the many subspecialties in surgery, including necessary skills to succeed. Educate students on important basic surgical techniques and proper surgical etiquette.
  3. Mentorship: Offer guidance to all Florida medical  students interested in surgery. Assist these students in making an educated decision about pursuing a surgical career. Provide student and resident advice, as well as current information on statewide and national surgical issues.


Chair:  Tara M. Irani, JD                        University of Miami                                

Tara is native to the Washington, DC Metro area.  In 2008, Tara earned her Bachelor of Arts summa cum laude in psychology, English, and anthropology from the University of Miami. In 2011, she began working as a Clinical Research Coordinator at the Ryder Trauma Center. At Ryder, she helped create and manage a motorcycle crash prevention program. In 2016, Tara graduated cum laude from the University of Miami School of Law and became a member of the Florida bar. Tara is currently pursuing her Doctorate in Medicine at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. In addition to her leadership role with FACS, Tara leads UM’s Gun Violence Research Advocacy Program, and continues to conduct prevention research in motorcycle crashes, other forms of blunt trauma, and surgical education. Tara hopes to one day become a surgeon who is also an expert in health policy.


Vice Chair:  Yao Yang, MPH                        University of Miami

Yao earned a Bachelor of Arts in music with a concentration in music, science and technology from Stanford University in 2009. Exposure to health care in resource-limited settings in her undergraduate years sparked an interest in surgical care and led her to earn a Master of Public Health in Chronic Disease Epidemiology from the Yale School of Public Health in 2013. Her research interests include epidemiology of surgical disease, surgical capacity-building, and extreme affordability in health care. She is currently a student at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.

Committee Members:

Alex Breslin                                         Florida International University

Tracey Cook                                        Florida State University

Nicole Le                                             University of South Florida

Timothy Legare                                   University of Central Florida

Remy Minami                                      University of Miami

Alex Moses                                         University of Central Florida

Raed Ismail Narvel                             Florida International University

Jarrod Olafson                                    University of South Florida

Daniel Ramon                                     University of South Florida

Bhupaul Ramsuchit                             Florida International University

Kelley Rojas                                        Florida State University

Ben Slavin                                           University of Miami

Peter Vonu                                          University of Florida

Palina Woodhouse                              Florida International University

Yao Yang, MPH                                  University of Miami

Christa Zino                                        University of Central Florida

Faculty Mentor:                                 Holly Neville, MD, FACS                      University of Miami


Membership in the Florida Chapter – Medical Student is automatic for medical student members of the Florida Chapter of the American College of Surgeons.

How to Become Involved

  • Individuals interested in being considered for appointment to the Medical Student Committee should send their interest to FCACSMDStudents@gmail.com

Annual Florida Chapter ACS meeting Honors & Awards

  • Medical Student Poster Awards:

  • Katherine Black, University of South Florida ($100 Award) –  Progressive Radiographic Findings After Breast Conserving Surgery and Intraoperative Radiation

Upcoming Events

103rd Annual Clinical Congress
October 22-26, 2017
San Diego, CA
Legislative Day
January 2018 (date TBD)
Tallahassee, FL
Leadership & Advocacy ACS
May 19-22, 2018
Washington, DC
Florida Chapter Annual Meeting
April 6-8, 2018
Orlando, FL


Publication Date: 
Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 11:00am